Rachel Beanland “Florence Adler Swims Forever” Author Talk

JBC Authors at the Table: The Jew­ish Book Coun­cil sits down with Rachel Beanland for a quick 30-minute chat to learn about her lat­est work, Florence Adler Swims Forever.

AUTHOR TALK DETAILS

July 1, 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:00 pm
Organized by: The Jewish Book Council
Registration Link: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_HxRgpObCSqCneyfN6Vzx2g

July 9, 2020 @ 5:00 pm
Organized by: Hub City Writers Project
Joining Link: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/virtual-talk-with-rachel-beanland-florence-adler-swims-forever-tickets-102830930080

July 16, 2020 @ 6:30 pm
Organized by: Writer’s Block Bookstore
Joining Link: https://www.writersblockbookstore.com/event/florence-adler-swims-forever-rachel-beanland

July 19, 2020 @ 1:00 pm
Organized by: Writer’s Block Bookstore
Joining Link: https://www.writersblockbookstore.com/event/florence-adler-swims-forever-rachel-beanland

July 21, 2020 @ 6:30 pm
Organized by: Fountain Bookstore
Register Here: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/rachelbeanland072120/register

About the Author:

Rachel Beanland is an MFA candidate in creative writing at Virginia Commonwealth University. She holds bachelor’s degrees in art history and journalism from the University of South Carolina and lives in Richmond, Virginia, with her husband and three children.

About the Book:

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse.

“Rachel Beanland is a writer of uncommon wit and wisdom, with a sharp and empathetic eye for character. She’ll win you over in the most old fashioned of ways: She simply tells a hell of a story.” —Rebecca Makkai, Pulitzer Finalist for The Great Believers

Atlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home.

Now Florence has returned from college, determined to spend the summer training to swim the English Channel, and Fannie, pregnant again after recently losing a baby, is on bedrest for the duration of her pregnancy. After Joseph insists they take in a mysterious young woman whom he recently helped emigrate from Nazi Germany, the apartment is bursting at the seams.

Esther only wants to keep her daughters close and safe but some matters are beyond her control: there’s Fannie’s risky pregnancy—not to mention her always-scheming husband, Isaac—and the fact that the handsome heir of a hotel notorious for its anti-Semitic policies, seems to be in love with Florence.

When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal.

Based on a true story and told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy.

Book Signings in Pictures

Get free book signing news and alerts!

Conversation: Post a comment or ask a question