Flavor Flav, Los Angeles Book Signing Event “The Icon”

Public Enemy founding member and hype man Flavor Flav has written a memoir “The Icon” and he’ll be in Glendale this weekend signing copies.

Hailing from Freeport, Long Island, William Drayton aka Flavor Flav is a musical prodigy who plays fifteen instruments — that’s right, kids. He started on the piano at the age of five, then moved on to drums and guitar. He met Chuck D while the two attended Adelphi University where their first collaborative effort was for Chuck D’s hip-hop college radio show. Public Enemy’s first studio album “Yo! Bum Rush the Show” was released in 1987. Their follow-up album “It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back” went double platinum. On the small screen, Flavor Flav has appeared in the reality TV series The Surreal Life, Strange Love, Flavor of Love and its two spin-offs, along with the MyNetworkTV comedy Under One Roof.

Book Signing Event

Saturday June 04, 2011 1:00 PM
Glendale Americana
The Americana at Brand
210 Americana Way
Glendale, CA 91210

From the Publisher
From his twenty-five years as a member of one of the most influential hip hop groups of all time, to his career as a television personality, the word that best describes Flavor Flav is ‘iconic.’ Clock-wearing, colorful and sometimes controversial, William Drayton—known affectionately all around the world as simply ‘Flav’—finally tells all.

In this compelling memoir, Flavor Flav takes the reader in vivid detail behind the scenes of his multi-faceted career. He spares no one, revealing the tensions within Public Enemy and with Def Jam records, his struggles with addiction, his multiple visits to both rehab and to jail before re-inventing himself in reality television as VH1’s most eligible—and most watched—bachelor. Taking readers on a journey into the truth behind his bigger-than-life image, Flavor Flav’s presents his unique perspective on music and reality TV– how he survived the pressures of both to become one of the most-sampled and recognized figures in media.Told with the gritty, compassionate and often-hilarious style that has made the man a legend, this memoir is a thrill ride from the heights of celebrity to the depths of despair and back again to tell the tale.


With Public Enemy

* Yo! Bum Rush the Show (1987)
* It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back (1988)
* Fight the Power…Live! (video and album, 1989)
* Fear of a Black Planet (1990)
* Apocalypse ’91…The Enemy Strikes Black (1991)
* Greatest Misses 1986-1992 (1992)
* Muse Sick-n-Hour Mess Age (1994)
* He Got Game (1998)
* BTN 2000 (1999)
* There’s A Poison Goin On (1999)
* Revolverlution (2002)
* There’s A Poison Goin On (worldwide re-release) (2004)
* Son of a Bush (EP) (2004)
* New Whirl Odor (2005)
* Rebirth of a Nation (2006)
* How You Sell Soul to a Soulless People Who Sold Their Soul? (2007)

Solo albums

* Flavor Flav (2006)

Sources: barnes and noble.com

Book Signings in Pictures

Get free book signing news and alerts!

Conversation: Post a comment or ask a question

1 Comment on Flavor Flav, Los Angeles Book Signing Event “The Icon”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.